Skip to content

The Fear of the Lord & New Testament Spirituality

July 12, 2007

“New Testament spirituality is still based on the fear of the Lord. Most of us have difficulty nurturing that living reverence, or respectful love, which is the fear of God. We have been raised by parents who have either spoiled or rejected us, or perhaps have done both. We project their inconsistency and ambivalence on our picture of God. But God is not an arbitrary and authoritarian parent. Love and Justice, mercy and anger are not struggling in his nature or flowing and erupting unpredictably. His justice is always controlled and directed by his love. He causes “all things to work together for good to those who love God” (Rom 8:28). Even sorrow and tragedy are not “accidents” or meaningless evils. They are strokes of discipline his love has designed to conform us more fully to the image of his Son (Phil 3:10; Heb 12:5-11).”

Richard Lovelace, Renewal As A Way of Life, Wipf & Stock Publishers (January 2002). Renewal is an applied version of Dynamics of Spiritual Life, a theology of personal and social spiritual renewal.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. July 12, 2007 9:25 am

    Great quote! Especially the last two sentances. I need to read Lovelace.

  2. Chris permalink
    July 12, 2007 11:47 am

    What an insightful quote. I can personally relate and in hindsight before I accepted Christ, the events in my life which made me curse God, I now partially understand and praise Him for.

    I was simply being redirected, disciplined(I didn’t like it of course!) by God to a path that would ALLOW me to break free of my sins and my fight with Satan and turn towards His future grace and light, but more importantly AWAY from the darkness Satan had placed me in.

    Not to be irreverant but to quote an old 80’s song:

    “The Future so bright, I gotta wear shades…”

  3. July 12, 2007 12:48 pm

    So sweet Chris, so sweet!

  4. Sara permalink
    July 12, 2007 4:47 pm

    good quote, good comments!

Leave a Reply

