Skip to content

Sunday Sermon

July 29, 2007

After recovering from a 36 hour bug, I found little time left this week to prepare for Sunday’s sermon. As a result, I switched from the 2 Kings 5 passage to a more familiar one, Colossians 3.1-4. The sermon, Seek The Things Above, is about the relevance of Christian faith to justice, to participating in Christ’s righteous and redemptive reign. I explored the identity issues raised by “spiritual” people who appear to have things together, but neglect the issues of justice in their community, while also addressing the social activist, who identity is also misplaced in being socially active. Finally, we examined future glory as a motivation for present redemptive action.

The audio is here. The manuscript is here.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Chris permalink
    July 30, 2007 1:20 pm

    Sorry to hear you were feeling ill.

  2. Sara permalink
    July 30, 2007 4:50 pm

    so good to hear your voice again, Jonathan (I was tearing up so switched to the manuscript), and read an excellent sermon! I so needed this, thanks

  3. July 31, 2007 7:47 am

    Sorry to hear you were sick. I listened to some of your sermon and then read the rest. It was very good. The funny thing is that God pointed me back to these verses this past week in my own time with Him. Now I have more food to meditate on from this passage. Thanks brother.

  4. July 31, 2007 8:06 am

    thanks man. i have a long way to go on sermon prep and wish i could have done a couple more drafts, but god used it/me. I had a couple pretty significant conversations afterwards.

  5. July 31, 2007 1:31 pm

    Downloading it now!

Leave a Reply

