Skip to content

An Incarnational Reflection on Evolution

August 16, 2007

Richard Mouw is an incredibly creative thinker, at times, too creative. Nevertheless, his post on how the Incarnation is connected to the evolution of man is thought provoking. Though I have room for theistic evolution, I have not embraced that position. What is most important is that we affirm that mankind, unlike homo habilis, was created in God’s image.

Read it here.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Geoff permalink
    August 19, 2007 1:59 pm

    Have you read “The Language of God” by Francis Collins? He was the in charge of the Human genome project and an evangelical. His particular take on theistic evolution will be, I predict, sweeping college and university campuses in the next decade (or at least the book will be – its very readable). Any thoughts?

  2. August 19, 2007 7:59 pm

    I havent read it yet, though I am familiar with him. Once I read it, i’ll do a post. But what are your thoughts? Could you summarize his position?

  3. Geoff permalink
    August 19, 2007 9:01 pm

    I read the first 80% of the book when in VA over the summer, but had to leave before I got to his final chapter. I don’t know how accurately I could summarize, but I know that he attempts to offer an evangelical alternative to creationism and intelligent design. He feels that I.D. is another god of the gaps theory which ultimately makes God smaller than he is as science grows to be able to understand more and more. As a scientist, he’s pretty sold on macro and micro evolution (not actually making much of a distinction); but I didn’t quite finish the “grand finale”. What drew me to Collins was his obvious credentials for writing, his apologetic and evangelistic slant (not convincing people of a view on evolution, but pointing people to Christ), and his non-abrasive style towards differing views. I’d want to finish the book and process more before making any personally definitive statements.

Leave a Reply

