Skip to content

Robie is having Surgery

February 6, 2008

My wife is having surgery today. It’s intimidating and encouraging. The issue came out of nowhere. We’ve only known about this for about a week. Doctors don’t know what the cist is in her uterine area. They think they have ruled out ovarian cancer through multiple scans. Today they will extract the cist.

The unknown can be intimidating. Robie is understandably concerned about “going under.” Mortality flirts with her thoughts. When I first heard of the possibility of this being something serious, I was in Chicago. When I heard the word cancer and the phrase “I want to see my kids grow up” from my wife, I was on the phone. The emotional impact hit my gut with force and pulled tears to my eyes. Thankfully, doctors have since ruled out ovarian cancer.

In all of this, we are encouraged. We are not mainly encouraged because its not cancer (nothing is for sure until the laproscopy), though that is very good news. We are encouraged to know and share the belief that God appoints difficult trials with well-intentioned purpose. His providential purposes are manifold.

We hope to discover some of them along the way. Perhaps the purpose is missional, to share the sufficiency of Jesus with others in the face of mortality. Perhaps the purpose is personal, to sanctify and sweeten our trust in a beneficent Creator and redeemer. Perhaps it is marital, to strengthen our marriage through trial. Or perhaps its just normal, normal suffering in a broken world, a reminder of the universal need for Someone greater than man to repair and renew the world as we know it.

God’s purposes are probably all of these and more. Pray that we would discover his purposes and re-discover him as we embrace this trial. And pray for mercy, mercy and hope, especially for Robie. Mercy for a clean, complication-free surgery and hope in a God who is always good.

9 Comments leave one →
  1. February 6, 2008 11:27 am

    Praying for you guys in this time … for mercy and hope as you said. Let me know how the surgery goes.

  2. February 6, 2008 1:15 pm

    J.

    Your last three paragraphs are inspired. Those are good words to hear on the first day of Lent. Good words for me personally. I’m thankful God has entrusted such a sincere heart to a man like you – I think Robie shares that sentiment.

    I am praying for you guys.

  3. February 6, 2008 2:45 pm

    Continuing to pray for you and Robie brother. I pray that God continue to comfort you in his sovereignty and that you are children of mercy.

  4. February 6, 2008 3:27 pm

    I thank God often for you and Robie. Know that Heidi and I will be praying for you.

  5. Sara permalink
    February 6, 2008 5:22 pm

    Gosh, this is tough, Jonathan – I love Robie so much and am glad to hear you are seeking His goodness even in the most difficult of times. I’ll be praying (and happy birthday to Ellie today! did you know Beckie’s baby Clara and Owen share the same bday??)

  6. February 6, 2008 7:11 pm

    Zach mentioned that this to me at the prayer retreat. You were missed and we’ve been praying!

  7. February 6, 2008 7:17 pm

    Jonathan,
    I will be praying for you and Robie during this. Thanks for sharing your thoughts on the post and keep us updated.

  8. February 6, 2008 9:18 pm

    praying man…

  9. jane younce permalink
    February 7, 2008 8:01 am

    Scan do not always show the extent of ovarian cancer.

    If by chance it is ovarian cancer, you wife MUST see an gynecological/oncologist – it is her best chance at getting the best treatment. I am an ovarian cancer patient who has been battling this disease for 2 years. Only God is getting me through I am 52 years old – I was diagnosed at 50.

    I will be praying for you. If you want to contact me, please feel free.

Leave a Reply

