Skip to content

Tools for Missional Church

September 29, 2008

Check the resources out here.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. September 30, 2008 5:49 pm

    Jonathan,

    Hi. My name is Quique Autrey. I am one of Jeff Brown’s friends from Houston. I am currently the pastoral intern at a new church plant in Sugar Land, TX.

    Like you guys, we have also struggled with the “missional/community” dialectic. I can’t say that we have figured anything out. It is still a challenge.

    But for me at least, I need to think about things in an almost meta-theological sense to really understand them and put them into practice. These are some of my thoughts:

    We like to say that the church is “incarnational” (or should be). Lately I’ve been thinking about the church as “Trinitarian”. And not just in the sense that the church’s relational ontology is grounded in the Trinity. I know this is just provisional, but I think we have at least a model or paradigm in the Trinity to help us with our missional/communion tension.

    The model derives from the ontological and economic Trinity. If the church is, as Miroslav Volf and John Zizioulas say, the image of the Trinity– then they are the image of both the ontological and economic Trinity. And the ontological Trinity is infinite communion- pure fellowship. But the economic Trinity steps into history (so to speak)and unravels the Missio Dei.

    I know this doesn’t ease the missional/communion tension, but it refocuses them for me— at least :)

    Peace in Christ brother,

    Quique Autrey

  2. September 30, 2008 9:08 pm

    Thanks for your thoughts, Quique. Yes, I am very familiar with the Cappadocian vs. Augustinian views of the Trinity, which are wonderful theological constructs for community and mission. Colin Gunton has also explored this in an immensely helpful way.

    Forutnately, we have gained some significant ground in working out this theology through functional ecclesiology in Austin City Life. It’s been a real joy to see Gospel, Community, and Mission converge in this community, albeit very imperfectly.

  3. September 30, 2008 9:36 pm

    I have heard of Colin Gunton but have never really studied him. I read in your bio that he has had a major influence on you. If there’s one book you would steer me towards, which one would that be?

    Thanks again for your time

    Q

  4. September 30, 2008 10:05 pm

    Triune Creator, hands down.

Leave a Reply

