Skip to content

Stuff White People Like

October 28, 2008

I have a friend who likes to send me links from StuffWhitePeopleLike.com. I click and read out of duty. Occasionally, I will laugh. But this morning, after skimming the Full List of Things White People Like, I became curious about Christian Lander’s statistical source. I mean, who’s to say that the majority of white people in America like “assists”? After all, every white kid I knew growing up wanted to dunk! What white kids really like is “dunking”; they settle for passing to get into the NBA!

Among the morass of trivia, I found this piece of wisdom. Especially appropriate given all the bloggers who try to attract big hits by giving stuff away or overstating thier case:

Any advice for people who want to be internet famous?

Don’t try. People can smell desperation, you have to create something that you like and you honestly cannot set out hoping for success – it’s your first step to failure.

So, I overturned a bit of wisdom, which was a good reminder for me. However, no statistical source found, yet Landers claims scientific authority:“This is a scientific approach to highlight and explain stuff white people like.” Perhaps yet another comedic jab at the white hunger for statistics? If not, feel free to fill me in!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. ChrisC permalink
    October 29, 2008 6:25 am

    Although I see and appreciate the humor of this concept, it frankly troubles me.

    I think it is just this sort of sly, underhanded and subtly divisive way of expressing a viewpoint that is at the root of our cultural and racial divide in this country.

    It reminds me of insulting someone and then rhetorically following up with the “just kidding”.

    As far as “scientific” based opinions? I think it is nonsense.

    I disturbs me that a blog like this is so popular and taken so lightly? Are there a “Stuff Jews like”, “Stuff Black People like”, etc. blogs?

  2. October 29, 2008 1:27 pm

    Chris…turns out there are too many spinoffs to count, stuff black people like, stuff educated black people like, stuff young jewish adults like…it goes on and on…there is even some funny pokes at christian sub-culture over at “stuff christians like”

  3. ChrisC permalink
    October 29, 2008 2:07 pm

    Nate..While I think it is important to have a sense of humor and be able to laugh at yourself, I just wonder what the ultimate end result is by glorifying the divide between people but reinforcing stereotypes instead of trying to dissolve them.

Trackbacks

  1. Stuff White People Like « Church Planting Novice

Leave a Reply

