Skip to content

Detailed Review of The Shack

December 4, 2008

Here

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Sara permalink
    December 5, 2008 6:44 pm

    Hey JD, I read most of The Shack (it was a gift to the women’s BS last year at FCCH) and I skimmed the review. I just lost a desire to finish the book b/c was so turned off – I had to do a double-take at some of the statements. So left field. The 90/10 principle I can relate to. The whole thing reminded me of this pastor at my old church that I thought was really great and funny and I enjoyed his messages. Then after a good long while I learned he was a Universalist. Same with the book, good set up but WOAH, we’re back to square one. I’m always reading things w/ the mindset of what would be good to pass onto a nonbeliever or what would encourage a believer. There’s no way I would tell anyone to read this unless I knew they were a solid believer and needed some time to kill with a work of fiction

  2. December 8, 2008 8:47 pm

    I only made it through 4 chapters; i couldnt stand the writing. I may read teh end, just to get his theology from the fictional horse’s mouth.

Leave a Reply

