Skip to content

My New Article: Anger, The Image of Satan

February 18, 2009

You don’t have to be an “angry person” to have a problem with anger. Even complaining can be a form of sinful anger. This new article honestly explores everything from everyday anger to explosive anger, attempting to get at the angry root that makes us look more like Satan than Jesus. I hope you’ll read Anger, The Image of Satan and find gospel resources to grow in grace.

8 Comments leave one →
  1. February 18, 2009 2:07 pm

    Jonathan,

    Thanks for the article. LIke you, I struggled with my anger at times with my wife. I was greatly convincted of the sin I was committing against her and against God with my willingness to raise my voice, challenger her, and push and push until I got my way. By God’s grace, and lots of prayer and intentional avoidance of seeking my own way, it has been many months since I have expressed anger toward my wife. We recently went through a mini-marriage retreat and my wife remarked at the degree to which I have controlled my anger and how appreciative she was of my willingness to change. When people struggle with issues like anger, those of us who notice people changing and breaking free from bondage to those sins need to recognize and rejoice at those evidences of grace.

  2. February 18, 2009 2:15 pm

    Great news, Chris. God can change our hearts and our actions. I too have experienced remarkable grace, both from my wife and from the Lord since those early years of marriage. I’ve found that children have a way of getting at those old patterns, so it’s been good for me to press deep into the gospel for godly patience with my kids.

    Rejoicing with you!

  3. Sara permalink
    February 18, 2009 5:29 pm

    congrats on getting your latest article published! thx for being so vulnerable, we all struggle with anger!

  4. February 18, 2009 6:10 pm

    Wow, I can’t see you pulling the Incredible Hulk move…

    Great article.

    It’s funny, though people in the US do complain, Argentina takes it to another level. As many Argentines will openly acknowledge, complaining is a national past time here. It can be challenging to not get sucked into it. Man, it was stinkin’ hot today…

  5. February 18, 2009 7:42 pm

    This article is something I’ve needed to hear for a while. As my wife and I have been looking at how we could buy a house and some other decisions, I find myself getting angry often.

  6. February 19, 2009 11:16 am

    i’m going to read it just before my dentist appt.

    “If” it’s good, then maybe I’ll pass it on to my church fam.

    by the way, I’ll be looking for some Beale-esque ‘you become what you worship’ in here. he’s got a great section on how Adam and Eve become like satan.

  7. February 19, 2009 11:20 am

    I didn’t explore the become what you worship stuff much, just assumed it and pointed out the warmaking nature of anger as devlish and the peacemaking nature as christlike. Do share your insights….

    Happy dentist appt

  8. February 20, 2009 9:10 am

    Convicting–you don’t have to be an ‘angry person’ to be ruled by sinful anger. Is there complaining, grumpiness, cutting remarks, sulking in my life? Those are expressions of angry unbelief in God’s promises.

    Alarming–anger is not cool, not neutral. it sides you with Satan, shapes you into his image: liar, murderer, divider, aggressor.

    Hopeful–God’s anger and the cross of Christ are my only remedy. Thank you for this line in particular: “Understanding God’s anger inevitably leads us to the cross where God’s justice and mercy meet in perfect, soul-wrenching, Christ-crushing, sin-forgiving, life-giving harmony.”

Leave a Reply

