Skip to content

Resources for Mercy & Justice

January 17, 2010

We pretty much got blown away on Sunday by God’s mercy. If you weren’t with us at Austin City Life, I encourage you to listen to the audio. We prayed, we wept, we sang, we repented, we hoped in the God of Mercy. Amazing. Here are a few practical resources for you to continue to live out a life of Christian mercy:

Articles

Books

3 Comments leave one →
  1. ChrisC permalink
    January 18, 2010 11:26 am

    I agree. Powerful sermon. Powerful worship. Thanks. It was quite a “workout”. Talked about it the rest of the day.

  2. Ginger permalink
    January 18, 2010 9:08 pm

    The teaching yesterday really got to me. It took me all day to even be able to articulate why. The teaching didn’t get me emotionally pumped on a surface level to help the world. It reached far deeper.

    I love being there for people. I love helping, giving, assisting, serving people in their need. It makes me feel real good to do those things. It makes me feel better about myself. It makes me feel like I am a good person. But as I sat and listened – it was so clear to me that I am poor. I need mercy. I need saved, and I was saved.

    As I pondered that kind of love, mercy and sacrifice – I felt ashamed for my areas of sin. And I wanted it gone. I felt the love and courage to look at it and be honest about it. Confess it, and be held accountable in fighting it.

    Showing mercy means receiving mercy. Showing love means receiving love. Living the gospel means receiving the gospel.

    Jesus blows my mind. He is so complete and perfect, and I am always childishly surprised by how great his love is so completely designed.

    Thanks, Jonathan, for being so faithful and relentless and patient in teaching the gospel and truth.

  3. January 20, 2010 7:49 am

    Thanks for this powerful, honest reflection, Ginger. You articulated the gospel so well, clearly because you’ve soaked in it and been brought to Jesus. May all of us do the same.

    P.S. I read this comment to our staff on Tuesday morning and they were greatly encouraged!

Leave a Reply

